Pictured above ↑ a look at some of the prospective female students who are supported by the foundation.

BULDAN FOUNDATION’S NEW CHARITY PROJECT: "EDUCATION IS POWER"

I spent a lot of time with my friend Meryem - the founder of the The Buldan Foundation- during my recent visit to the traditional weaving district around Buldan.
About a year ago we organized a women’s “get-together” breakfast for the weavers and last autumn I wrote a blog article about the Buldan Foundation’s project" Enabling Essential School Supplies for children from a Traditional Weavers Village“.

Meryem told me about her latest project "Education is Power". This project currently supports 25 girls from the Buldan area so that they can attend university. The girls have to attend a 4 year course at a university or technical college to qualify for a scholarship. The Buldan Foundation’s goal is to support 100 female students.

A GENERATIONAL SHIFT

In rural areas of Turkey, such as Buldan, it is still not common for young women to attend university despite their dreams and aspirations to do so. These young women tend to encounter an innate cultural resistance and bias from their social environment and families. In most cases these young women do not have the financial means to further their education and to later pursue an interesting profession. Their situation becomes more difficult in that these young women must live away from home in a faculty dormitory or nearer to the university under very simple, sometimes difficult living conditions.

Meryem and the Buldan Foundation aim to provide support through the success of this project. They encourage them to obtain a university degree and thus give them a good start in their professional life.

CROWDFUNDING

Crowdfunding for the “Education is Power” project is on the Globalgiving platform and donations are currently being collected in earnest. The members of the Buldan Foundation and all voluntary supporters will run the Istanbul Marathon in November, as a charity event, to raise money.

Treat you supports this project by donating proceeds through the sales of pestemals and bathrobes.
I am grateful to give something back to the weaver district and the surrounding area.

I know that every donation, no matter the amount, is truly appreciated. Please feel free to donate yourself and I provide the Crowdfunding platform link for Globalgiving here.

SOME GOOD NEWS

On a personal note, I am happy to report and present some positive news out of Turkey with this project. Over the past few years, Turkey has been mired with negative press releases internationally. I feel that it is important to see that there are many dedicated people who are committed to a positive and constructive future.

Together with the tireless Meryem Salman in the Geleyli Cafe of the Buldan Foundation.

A few impressions from Buldan

Im obenstehnden Bild sind einige angehenden Studentinnen, die von der Stiftung unterstützt werden zu sehen.

NEUES SPENDENPROJEKT: „EDUCATION IS POWER“

Bei meinem kürzlichen Besuch im Weberort Buldan habe ich viel Zeit mit Meryem, der Gründerin der Stiftung Buldanvakfi, verbracht.
Vor einem Jahr organisierten wir zusammen ein Frühstück für die Weberinnen des Dorfes und letzten Herbst berichtete ich über ihr Projekt „Schulausrüstung für Kinder in Buldan„.

Meryem hat mir über ihr neustes Projekt “Education is power” erzählt. Dieses Projekt unterstützt zur Zeit 25 Mädchen aus Buldan, damit sie studieren können. Ihr Ziel ist 100 Studentinnen zu erreichen. Die Mädchen müssen einen 4 jährigen Studiengang an einer Universität oder technischen Hochschule besuchen, um sich für ein Stipendium zu qualifizieren.

GENERATIONENWECHSEL

In ländlichen Gegenden der Türkei wie Buldan, ist es noch nicht selbstverständlich, dass Mädchen studieren gehen. So stossen sie auf Widerstand und Unverständnis aus ihrer Umgebung und der Familie. Oft haben sie auch nicht die finanziellen Mittel dazu. Ihr Wunsch und Traum ist es aber, an die Uni zu gehen und später einen interessanten Beruf auszuüben. Die Bedingungen sind oft auch schwierig, da sie von zu Hause weg sind und in der Fakultät oder in der Nähe unter sehr einfachen, zum Teil auch schwierigen Bedingungn wohnen müssen.

Meryem und ihre Stiftung möchten sie mit diesem Projekt unterstützen. Sie dazu ermutigen einen Hochschulabschluss zu machen und ihnen so einen guten Einstieg in das Berufsleben ermöglichen.

CROWDFUNDING

Das Projekt ist in der Crowdfunding Organisation Globalgiving und es werden nun eifrig Spenden gesammelt. Die Mitglieder der Buldanvakfi Stiftung und wer auch immer sie dazu motivieren können, laufen im November den Istanbul Marathon, als Wohltätigkeitslauf um Beiträge zu sammeln.

Treat you unterstützt mit dem Erlös vom Verkauf von gewissen Pestemals und Bademänteln dieses neue Projekt auch.
Ich freue mich, damit etwas in den Weberort und die Gegend zurückzugeben.

Der Link zum Crowdfunding mit Globalgiving ist hier. Die Stiftung ist froh über jede Spende, egal welcher Betrag, auch wenn es nur 10 Franken sind.

GUTE NACHRICHTEN

Persönlich freut es mich auch, mit diesem Projekt etwas Positives aus der Türkei berichten und vorstellen zu können. Vor allem weil das Land in den letzten paar Jahren fast nur für Negativschlagzeilen bei uns gesorgt hat. Es ist auch wichtig zu sehen, dass es viele tolle Leute dort gibt, die sich für eine positive und konstruktive Zukunft einsetzen.

 

 

Zusammen mit der unermüdlichen Meryem Salman im Geleyli Cafe der Stiftung in Buldan.

 

Ein paar Eindrücke aus dem Weberort Buldan