Kara Tezgah

KARA TEZGAH / THE SEMI-AUTOMATIC LOOM

Known in Turkish as “Kara Tezgah” - a “Black Loom”. In English- I use the descriptive term semi- automatic loom because, despite its mechanical drive, a lot still needs to be done by hand. For example the frequent change of the spooled threats (on the bobbin) in the shuttle, which requires switching the loom on and off. Also, the loom needs to be constantly monitored, as there are often irregularities that need to be corrected.

The following video serves as your functional visual guide to show how the black loom works. Treat you’s Oktopus- Pestemal is being woven. Click on the image or here

The electrically powered dynamo-propulsion engine (1) on the right-hand side rotates the two gears, which in turn drive the three various basic movements of the loom:

  1. The wooden batten (2)presses the weft (the filling yarn) towards the already formed towel.
  2. The wooden shuttle (3) with the pink weft thread inside is sent back and forth, creating the cross weave.
  3. The various shafts (4) move vertically from top to bottom. The heddles (vertically running threads), which are attached to the various shafts, move the vertical warp threads to create the pattern.

The desired pattern is thus woven row by row.

THE PATTERN

On the left hand side is the punch card (5)which defines the pattern of the pestemal. The design is punched into the card and mechanically scanned. Depending on the pattern on the punch card, the mechanism on the upper part of the loom is lifted and the appropriate shaft with the attached heddle is moved up and down, thus weaving the pattern.

A BRIEF HISTORY

The semi-automatic loom or then called power loom was invented in England in the 18th century, and was driven at first by hand, later by steam engine.
The punch card looms, which include the well known Jacquard loom, made an important contribution to industrialization of textile production. The punch card system helped lay the foundation for modern computer control technology in general and, as such, gave rise to the fully automatic looms capable of producing thousands of fairly complex patterned towels per day.

Kara Tezgah

DER HALBAUTOMATISCHE WEBSTUHL/ KARA TEZGAH

In der Türkei  wird er “Kara Tezgah” und im englischen “Black Loom” genannt. Die eigentliche Übersetzung in das Deutsche wäre schwarzer Webstuhl/ schwarze Werkbank. Ich verwende den Ausdruck halbautomatischer Webstuhl, weil trotz des maschinellen Antriebs noch viel von Hand gemacht werden muss. Wie zum Beispiel das häufige Wechseln der Spule im Schiffchen mit Ein-und Ausschalten und die Überwachung der Funktionsweise, da es oft Unregelmässigkeiten gibt, die korrigiert werden müssen.

Das folgende Video zeigt die Funktionsweise des halbautomatischen Webstuhls. Dabei wird unser Oktopus- Pestemal gewoben. Klicke auf das Bild oder hier

Der elektrisch betriebene Dynamo-Antrieb auf der rechten Seite bringt die zwei Zahnräder (1) zur Drehung. Diese treiben die drei verschiedenen Grundbewegungen des Webstuhl an:

  1. Die Lade (2), schlägt den Schussfaden an das schon geformte Tuch an.
  2. Das Schiffchen (3) mit dem pinken Schussfaden wird hin und hergeschickt.
  3. Die Schäfte (4) werden senkrecht von oben nach unten bewegt. An den Schäften sind die Litzen (senkrecht verlaufende Fäden) befestigt, welche die vertikalen Kettfäden bewegen.

Somit entsteht Reihe um Reihe das gewünschte Muster.

DAS MUSTER

Auf der linken Seite befindet sich die Lochkarte (5), welche das Muster des Pestemals vorgibt. Es ist in die Karte gestanzt und diese wird mechanisch abgetastet. Je nach Muster in der Lochkarte wird die Mechanik am oberen Teil des Webstuhls hochgehoben und so die Schäfte mit den Litzen gesteuert, die dann die Webtechnik und das Muster bestimmen.

KURZER AUSZUG VON GESCHICHTE

Der halbautomatische Webstuhl, damals auch “Power Loom” genannt, wurde im 18. Jahrhundert in England erfunden und zuerst von Hand, danach mittels einer Dampfmaschine angetrieben.
Die Lochkarten- Webstühle zu denen auch der bekannte Jacquard- Webstuhl gehört, trugen entscheidend zur Industrialisierung der Textilproduktion bei. Das Lochkartensystem setzte den Grundstein der modernen Computer- Steuerungstechnik im Generellen, aber auch für die vollautomatischen Webmaschinen, die täglich tausende Pestemals mit komplexen Mustern herstellen können.