Continued from Part 1


By a charming twist of fate I came across the address of Ahmed.

Last time that I visited Buldan, something struck me about the building and its surroundings (see the image below), so I photographed it and put it on my @treatyou.ch Instagram story. Then Ahmed’s boss, Hüseyin, contacted me after seeing it. Hüseyin then suggested that I visit his employee Ahmed, who has his studio in that exact building that I photographed.


However, at this time I was already back in Switzerland but I decided to meet him on my next visit to the area. 

Fate being what it is, upon meeting Ahmed he tells me that he actually remembers seeing me in front of his studio taking pictures. 

The building is a protected historic building and therefore not many changes to its appearance are permitted by law. 

His small studio has its own unique and original character. He has two semi-automatic looms, the so-called "kara tezgah" and a small machine to wind threads onto bobbins. When he receives a large order, he rents more looms and hires additional weavers. 

In the second image below one can see the “punch-card” template that sets the pattern for the pestemal.



A bit of Culture and something for Animal Lovers


The region of Denizli has many cultural and historical sights that are definitely worth seeing. Among these sights are many interesting excavations and ancient cities, one of which is Tripolis, which is described in the blog entryTripolis a hidden Treasure.

Another ancient city is Hierapolis located near the famous limestone terraces of Pamukkale. Both are listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. When you first see Pamukkale you think you are looking at a mountain of snow that stands out from the rest of the surrounding landscape. With the cold temperatures that are currently prevalent, you could believe that this was a snowy mountain indeed.


The travertine terraces have been formed over thousands of years due to the deposits from the thermal springs. Varying mineral rich thermal springs populate the Denizli region and attract many visitors who come to bathe and enjoy the healing waters. 

Shoes must be taken off to avoid polluting the white limestone colour of the hill. Our pilgrimage on the mountain is a barefoot journey over the white terraces to visit Hierapolis, but we will not get to see it as planned... 


Fortunately, once you reach the top, you can warm up your frozen, almost numb feet in the warm thermal water. Feet warmed, we fortify ourselves at the snack bar where I am suddenly very popular with the local animal community, as you can see.



Their days are spent with the tourists hoping for some tasty treats.


Suddenly a storm hits, we must cut short our tour of Hierapolis and seek shelter and wait out the heavy rains and gusts of wind. We then decide to make our way back down again, the weather just doesn’t want to play nice today. We are asked by a frightened Chinese girl to accompany her back down, because she is scared and can’t seem to find her friends anymore. With humor and a quickened pace we take her in tow until we arrive at the bottom where, we find her friends again.

My feet are so numb, I can't feel my toes anymore, so we venture into the nearest café and warm up with a Turkish tea and hot chocolate.

We now make our way back to our hotel to recuperate in the famous thermal baths. We will most definitely make a return visit to Hierapolis, hopefully it will be a little warmer...

I'm already looking forward to it now.

Fortsetzung von Teil 1


Über einen lustigen Zufall komme ich an die Adresse von Ahmed.

Ein Bild auf unserem treat you Instagram Konto ist letztes Jahr seinem Chef aufgefallen und er kontaktierte mich deswegen. Ich solle doch seinen Angestellten besuchen, er habe im abgebildeten Haus sein Atelier. Mir hatte das Haus und seine Umgebung damals schon sehr gut gefallen und es deshalb fotografiert.


Ich war aber zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon wieder in der Schweiz, so nahm ich mir vor ihn beim nächsten Mal zu treffen. 

Ahmed erzählt mir, er könne sich erinnern, wie ich damals vor seinem Atelier vorbeigegangen bin und Fotos gemacht habe. 

Das Gebäude ist denkmalgeschützt und deshalb dürfen nicht viele Änderungen daran gemacht werden. 

Sein Atelier ist klein, charakteristisch und sehr originell. Er hat zwei halbautomatische Webstühle, die sogenannten „kara tezgah“ und eine kleine Maschine um den Faden auf die Spindel aufzuspulen. Wenn er eine grosse Bestellung erhält, mietet er weitere Webstühle und stellt zusätzliche Weber ein. 

Das Muster des Tuches wird durch die abgebildete Schablone vorgegeben.



Kulturelles und tierisches


Die Region ist sehr reich an kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Es hat viele interessante Ausgrabungen und uralte Städte, eine davon ist Tripolis, die in einem separaten Blogeintrag beschrieben wird.

Eine andere ist Hierapolis bei den berühmten Kalksinterterassen von Pamukkale. Sie sind als UNESCO Weltkulturerbe gelistet. Auf den ersten Blick meint man es sei ein Schneeberg, der mitten in der Landschaft steht. Es könnte eigentlich gut sein bei der Kälte, die gerade herrscht.


Die Terrassen sind über die Jahrtausende durch die Travertin Ablagerungen der Thermalquellen entstanden. Es gibt verschiedenste reichhaltige Thermalquellen in der Region. Das zieht auch zahlreiche Leute an, die für ihre Bade-und Heilkuren kommen. 

Die Schuhe müssen ausgezogen werden um die weisse Farbe des Hügels zu bewahren. Wir pilgern also barfuss den Weg über die weissen Terrassen hoch um Hierapolis anzuschauen, doch dazu werden wir bei diesem Besuch nicht kommen… 


Zum Glück kann man oben angekommen, die Füsse im warmen Thermalwasser wieder aufwärmen. Wir stärken uns erstmals beim Imbisstand, was mich zur besten Freundin von ein paar tierischen Gesellen macht.



Die verbringen dort ihren Tag mit den Touristen und warten auf ein paar Leckerbissen.


Es zieht plötzlich ein Sturm auf, wir müssen unsere angefangene Besichtigung der antiken Stadt unterbrechen und die starken Regenfälle und Windböen abwarten. Wir entscheiden uns wieder nach unten zu gehen, das Wetter spielt heute einfach nicht mit. Dabei treffen wir auf eine verängstigte Chinesin, die sich nicht alleine den Hügel runtergetraut und ihre Freunde nicht mehr finden kann. Wir nehmen sie ins Schlepptau und unten finden wir auch ihre Freunde wieder.

Ich spüre meine Zehen nicht mehr, so wir gehen ins nächste Café und wärmen uns bei einem türkischen Tee auf.

Danach kehren wir ins Hotel zurück um uns in den berühmten Thermalbädern zu entspannen. Hierapolis werden wir wohl beim nächsten Besuch anschauen, wenn es ein wenig wärmer ist…

Darauf freue mich jetzt schon.