Weberinnen nach dem Frühstück im Geleyli Cafe

AN EVENTFUL VISIT TO A TYPICAL WEAVER’S VILLAGE

Through the proceeds from the sale of black-loom produced and hand woven pestemals, I gathered some money together and felt the need to give something back to the community of weavers.

I had several ideas but none really worked out. Fortunately with the help of a friend, who made some inquiries to the City Council of Denizli, we learn about the foundation buldanvakfi.org which supports the local citizens of Buldan. Meryem Salman and four other engaged citizens gave life to the foundation two years ago. Buldanvakfi is a non-governmental organization (NGO), that supports women, young adults and elderly people through education and promoting solidarity. I knew this was the cause I wanted to support.

A FOUNDER STORY

Meryem was born and raised in Buldan and after completing her education in Istanbul and working professionally abroad and locally in Turkey, she decided to spend more time in her home village again for the past couple of years now. She truly understands the mentality and needs of the locals and she connects to the people in her unique, wonderful way. Based on her personal experiences, she felt a strong desire to empower and give something back to her community.

EXCHANGING IDEAS

What I also wished for was to personally give something directly to the weavers. I spoke with Meryem at length about an idea that could actually be realized. Deciding wasn’t all that easy, because I wanted the women to have something personal out of it even though I learned that they are not really used to treating themselves. What always works in Turkey is a social get together with nice food. So…

TREAT YOU INVITES THE LOCAL WOMEN WEAVERS FOR BREAKFAST

On a beautiful spring morning in May Meryem helped me organize a breakfast for 17 women weavers in the Geleyli Cafe garden of the Foundation. This turned out to be a really fun and entertaining morning. Lots of lively interactions, tons of laughter and the women were exchanging their experiences about their daily lives, work and whatever else came to mind. For my part, I also had the pleasure to taste some of the local culinary delicacies.

 

STROLLING THROUGH THE VILLAGE

Food and chitchat done, we made our way through the charming streets of Buldan to visit a few studios where weaving, embroidery and winding are taking place.

In these images is the place where Özlem re-winds the yarns onto larger rolls for manufacturing.

In these images we see a studio, where pestemals and scarves are weaved on the old handlooms, which are still operated by foot pedal.

FATMA

While the majority of these woman weavers learned their craft at a young age, Fatma discovered weaving later on in life and took a course at a local public school. Her training completed, she began weaving as a hobby and now she enjoys making foulards in her small studio. She wanted to teach me the basics of hand weaving and I must admit, my first time at the loom is not so easy but fun. But I got an in-depth idea about the functioning of the loom and wonderful art of weaving.

Pictured here, motifs are embroidered on bags by an automatic embroidery machine.

SPONSORED ATELIER

To complete this lovely day, we had the privilege to visit a temporary learning studio with several handlooms installed. Courses teaching all aspects of The Art of Hand-Weaving are being taught. These courses are sponsored by an insurance company as part of a corporate social responsibility project. In total 25 women, currently unemployed are involved. The project serves to provide motivation to enjoy learning something new and perhaps, like Fatma, this may lead to a new profession in their lives.

Through this sponsorship this age old art of weaving is passed on and as such is kept alive in modern times. After my blog entry: "Is Turkey losing its centuries-old weaving tradition?"I asked myself if this craft will die out in time. This project makes a direct contribution to preserve this traditional art.

A POSITIVE FOOTNOTE

In the past few months we received a lot of negative news out of Turkey. I am happy to report that based on my experiences, there is positive news coming out of the country. It shows that there are also projects and people who are committed to a better future for women, education and the preservation of traditional hand weaving.

Weberinnen nach dem Frühstück im Geleyli Cafe

EIN ERLEBNISREICHER BESUCH IN EINEM TYPISCHEN WEBERDORF

Durch den Erlös vom Verkauf der halbautomatisch hergestellten und handgewobenen Pestemals habe ich einen Betrag gesammelt und wollte ihn nun sinnvoll einsetzen.

Mit Hilfe eines Freundes und der Stadtgemeinde von Denizli (Türkei) sind wir zu der Stiftung buldanvakfi.org gekommen, welche sich für die Bewohner von Buldan einsetzt. Die Stiftung wurde vor zwei Jahren von Meryem Salman und vier engagierten Bewohnerinnen ins Leben gerufen. Buldan Vakfi, auch Buldan Stiftung genannt, ist eine Nichtregierungorganisation (NGO), welche sich für Frauen, junge Erwachsene und ältere Menschen, in den Themenbereichen Bildung und Solidarität in dieser Gegend einsetzt. Nach ein paar Gesprächen, hatte ich ein gutes Gefühl, dass ich diesen Zweck gerne unterstützen wollte.

DIE HAUPTGRÜNDERIN

Meryem ist dort aufgewachsen und nach dem Studium in Istanbul und beruflicher Karriere im In- und Ausland, verbringt sie seit ein paar Jahren wieder vermehrt Zeit in ihrem Heimatdorf. Sie kennt die Mentalität und Bedürfnisse der Bewohner und geht auf wunderbare Art und Weise auf die Leute ein. Aus persönlicher Erfahrung heraus, ist es ihr ein Anliegen den Leuten etwas zu ermöglichen und zurückzugeben.

IDEENAUSTAUSCH

Ich wollte aber auch etwas direkt an die Weberinnen zurückgeben. Lange habe ich mit Meryem darüber gesprochen wie wir das umsetzen können. Es war gar nicht so einfach, denn ich wollte dass die Frauen persönlich etwas davon haben, aber, so wie ich erfahren habe, sind sie es nicht gewohnt sich etwas zu gönnen. Was aber hierzulande immer funktioniert ist geselliges Beisammensein bei einem leckeren Essen…

FRÜHSTÜCK FÜR WEBERINNEN

So organisieren wir ein Frühstück für 17 Weberinnen, an einem wunderschönen Maimorgen im Garten des Geleyli Cafes der Stiftung . Es ist ein unterhaltsamer lustiger Morgen. Es wird gelacht, viel geredet und die Frauen können sich untereinander austauschen. Dabei kann ich auch einige Köstlichkeiten der Region kennenlernen.

 

SPAZIERGANG DURCH DAS DORF

Danach spazieren wir durch das Weberdorf und besichtigen ein paar Ateliers, wo gewoben, bestickt, und gespult wird.

In diesem Ort spult Özlem die eingekauften Garne auf grössere Rollen auf.

In diesem Atelier werden Pestemals und Schals auf den alten Handwebstühlen, welche noch mit Fusspedal bedient werden hergestellt.

FATMA

Die meisten Weberinnen erlernten ihr Handwerk in jungen Jahren. Fatma hat das Weben erst später für sich entdeckt und an einer öffentlichen Schule erlernt. Jetzt macht sie mit Freude Foulards in ihrem kleinen Atelier. Sie wollte mir das Weben auch beibringen. Das erste Mal am Webstuhl war nicht ganz einfach für mich, aber ich bekam eine gute Vorstellung über das Handweben und wie ein Handwebstuhl funktioniert.

In diesem Bild werden Motive mittels einer automatischen Stickmaschine auf Taschen gestickt.

TEMPORÄRES ATELIER

Zum Schluss haben wir noch ein temporäres Atelier mit mehreren Handwebstühlen besichtigt. Dort finden Kurse rund um die Handwebkunst statt. Diese Kurse werden von einer Versicherung im Rahmen eines unternehmerischen Gesellschaftsverantwortung Projektes gesponsort. Es nehmen 25 Frauen, welche arbeitslos sind daran teil. Es dient ihnen als Motivation etwas Neues zu erlernen und vielleicht auch später in diesem Beruf Fuss zu fassen wie zum Beispiel Fatma.

Gleichzeitig wird das lokale uralte Handwerk weitervermittelt und somit einen Beitrag an die Erhaltung der Tradition geleistet.  Nach meinem Blogeintrag: ‘Verliert die Türkei ihre jahrhundertalte Webertradition?’  habe ich mich gefragt ob wohl dieses Handwerk mit der Zeit aussterben wird. Dieses Projekt zeigt dass für die Weitererhaltung der Tradition einen Beitrag geleistet wird.

POSITIVE MELDUNG

Nachdem wir in Europa die letzen Monate sehr viel negative Meldungen aus der Türkei erhalten haben, freue ich mich umso mehr, mit diesem Bericht für eine positive Nachricht aus diesem Land zu sorgen. Es zeigt auf, dass es dort auch Projekte und Menschen gibt, die sich für eine bessere Zukunft für Frauen, Bildung und Erhaltung der traditionellen Webkunst einsetzen.